G.J. Lankhorst

Chief Executive Officer

Gertjan Lankhorst was born in Amsterdam on 22 December 1957. He worked at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam from 1982 to 1986. In 1986, he took up a position at the Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs as a member of the General Economic Policy Department. He then held various other positions at the Ministry including Director for Oil & Gas (1996–1999), Director of Competition (1999–2003) and Director-General for Energy (2004–2005).

Gertjan Lankhorst was appointed as GasTerra's Chief Executive Officer on September 1, 2006. He is President of the Royal Dutch Gas Association and President of Eurogas, which comprises companies, national associations and international organisations all engaged in the wholesale, retail and distribution of gas in Europe.


Ancillary positions

  • Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Hanzehogeschool
  • Jury member, Ien Dales (Integrity) Award
  • Member of Advisory Board, Clingendael International Energy Programme
  • Board member, Vereniging Energie-Nederland
  • Board member, Energy Delta Institute
  • Member of Strategic Board, Energy Valley
  • President, Eurogas
  • Board member, Gasunie/GasTerra Cultural Relations Events Foundation
  • Member of National Committee, World Petroleum Council
  • Member of the Supervisory Board, Marketing Groningen
  • Chairman of KVGN (Royal Dutch Gas Association)
  • Member of Advisory Committee, Groningen Bereikbaar
  • Member of Executive Committee, International Gas Union
  • Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Energy Academy Europe


  • General Economics – Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam